Skip to content Skip to navigation

Miriam Aaron Roland Volunteer Service Prize

The Miriam Aaron Roland Volunteer Service Prize recognizes Stanford faculty who engage and involve students in integrating academic scholarship with significant and meaningful volunteer service.

Established through the generosity of Miriam Aaron Roland '51 as an endowment to the Haas Center, the Roland Prize is unique at Stanford for its focus on the significant role that public service by faculty can play in higher education, benefiting students, communities, and the faculty themselves.

The prize, which includes a cash award, acknowledges faculty doing exemplary service work with nonprofits, NGOs, government agencies, or philanthropies, either domestically or internationally.


A nominee must be a full-time member of the Academic Council, Senior Lecturer, Medical School line faculty member, or clinician educator and demonstrate a personal commitment to service and a record of involving students in service.

Nominations for the 2019 Roland Prize are due by January 16, 2019. Submit a nomination.

For more information, please contact Paitra Houts.


2018 Awardee

Nicole Ardoin, an associate professor at Stanford University, researches opportunities for motivating pro-environmental and sustainability behaviors, connection to place, and environmental learning in everyday life. Her Social Ecology Lab includes interdisciplinary social-science scholars who address pressing environmental challenges through collaborating with community and nonprofit partners to design innovative approaches grounded in theories from social psychology, sociology, anthropology, and the learning sciences. Nicole’s group addresses a range of pressing environmental challenges through a variety of research methods, including interviews, surveys, ethnographic approaches, social network analysis, and participatory mapping, among others.

Nicole has a joint appointment in the Stanford Graduate School of Education and the Woods Institute for the Environment; she is the acting director of the Emmett Interdisciplinary Program on Environment and Resources (EIPER) in the School of Earth, Energy, and Environmental Sciences. At Stanford, she serves as an advisor the Haas Center for Public Service, the, the Jasper Ridge Biological Station, and the John Gardner Center for Youth and their Communities. Outside of Stanford, Nicole is an Associate Editor for the Environmental Education Research journal and a consulting editor for the Journal of Environmental Education and Children, Youth, and Environments. She is a trustee of the George B. Storer Foundation; on the Programs Committee of the Board of the Monterey Bay Aquarium; and an advisor to the Blue Sky Funders Forum, the North American Association for Environmental Education, NatureBridge, the Student Conservation Association, and Teton Science Schools. Nicole has a PhD in Social Ecology from the Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies.

Past Prize Recipients


William Koski,  Eric and Nancy Wright Professor of Clinical Education and Professor of Law (teaching), Stanford Law School; Professor of Education, by courtesy, Stanford Graduate School of Education


Rodolfo Dirzo,  Bing Professor in Environmental Science in the Department of Biology at Stanford University and the director of the Center for Latin American Studies; senior fellow at the Stanford Woods Institute for the Environment, and a faculty fellow in the Center for Teaching and Learning.


Elizabeth A. "Liz" Hadlybiology professor and senior associate vice provost for undergraduate education; Paul S. and Billie Achilles Chair of Environmental Biology and senior fellow at the Stanford Woods Institute for the Environment


Catherine "Cathy" Heaney, associate professor (teaching) of psychology and of medicine


Joan Petersilia, Adelbert H. Sweet Professor of Law and faculty co-director of the Stanford Criminal Justice Center


Gabriel Garcia, MD, professor of medicine and associate dean of admissions at the Stanford School of Medicine


Janice Ross, MA ’75, PhD ’98, Professor (Teaching) of Drama and Director of the Dance Division at Stanford


Debra SatzMarta Sutton Weeks Professor of Ethics in Society, professor of philosophy and, by courtesy, political science
Rob Reichassociate professor of political science and, by courtesy, philosophy and the School of Education, is faculty co-director of the Center on Philanthropy and Civil Society and faculty director of the Program in Ethics in Society


Linda Darling-Hammond, Charles E. Ducommun Professor in the School of Education


Lars Osterberg, Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine at Stanford School of Medicine


Terry L. Karl '70 (Humanities; '76 MA, '82 PhD, Political Science) Professor of Political Science, Gildred Professor in Latin American Studies and Senior Fellow, by courtesy, at the Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies
James M. Patell, Herbert Hoover Professor of Public and Private Management in the Stanford University Graduate School of Business


Don Barr, MD '90 (MS, Health Services Research; '93 PhD, Sociology) Associate Professor (teaching) of Sociology and Human Biology
Michael Wald, Jackson Eli Reynolds Professor of Law


Al Camarillo, Professor of History and Haas Centennial Professor in Public Service
Marilyn A. Winkleby, Associate Professor of Medicine


Milbrey McLaughlin, David Jacks Professor of Education and Public Policy
Boyd C. Paulson, Jr., Charles H. Leavell Professor of Civil Engineering