Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation
Virtual Advising

Students: We’re here to help you find opportunities that are a good fit for you! Schedule a virtual appointment with an advisor.

Email us

Faculty Steering Committee

Main content start

The Faculty Steering Committee (FSC) serves in an advisory capacity to the directors and staff of the Haas Center for Public Service. FSC meets quarterly for program-based informational briefings and to advise the directors and staff regarding the strength and focus of academic-service connections.

The FSC first formed in the mid-1980s to discuss a wide range of community and public service-related issues. As a group and as individuals, committee members encouraged other faculty to become involved with the center and to offer opportunities for their students to combine experiential service activities with courses and research. The FSC agenda includes evaluation of programs, linking public service to academics, the advisability of new programs, and methods of outreach to other faculty.

2020-2021 Faculty Steering Committee

  • Patrick Archie  (Stanford Educational Farm)
  • Nicole Ardoin (Graduate School of Education/Woods Institute)
  • Rania Awaad (Psychiatry)
  • Russell Berman (Comparative Literature)
  • Juliet Brodie (Law)
  • Bruce Cain (Political Science)
  • Lisa Chamberlain (Pediatrics)
  • Lanhee J. Chen (Hoover Institution)
  • Larry Diamond, '74, MA '78, PhD '80 (Sociology and Political Science/Hoover Institution/FSI)
  • Mark Duggan (SIEPR/Economics)
  • Dan Edelstein (French)
  • Scott Fendorf (Earth System Science)
  • Chris Field (Earth System Science)
  • Lisa Goldman-Rosas (Medicine)
  • David Grusky (Sociology)
  • Gabrielle Hecht (History)
  • Luci Herman (Law)
  • Pam Hinds (Management Science and Engineering)
  • Tomás Jiménez (Sociology)
  • Katherine Jolluck, MA '90, PhD '95 (History)
  • Michael Kahan (Program on Urban Studies/Sociology)
  • Patricia Karlin-Neumann (Religious Life)
  • Rosemary Knight, PhD '85 (Geophysics)
  • Larry Litvak (Urban Studies)
  • Titi Liu (Law)
  • Doug McAdam (Sociology)
  • Julia Novy-Hildesley (Change Leadership for Sustainability Program/SE3)
  • Karla Oeler (Art and Art History)
  • Katherine A. Preston (Program in Human Biology)
  • Eunice Rodriguez (Pediatrics)
  • Jonathan Rosa (Graduate School of Education)
  • Greg Rosston, MA '89, PhD '94 (Public Policy Program)
  • Matt Snipp (Sociology)
  • Jenny Suckale (Geophysics & Institute for Computational and Mathematical Engineering)
  • Ross Venook, '00, MS '02, PhD '06 (Bioengineering)
  • Jeremy Weinstein (Political Science)

University Liaisons

  • Gordon Chang (History)
  • Emelyn dela Peña (Vice Provost for Student Affairs)
  • Mariatte Denman (Vice Provost for Faculty Development, Teaching, and Learning)
  • Helen Doyle (Vice Provost for Graduate Education)
  • Tom Ehrlich (Education)
  • Shari Palmer, '90 (Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education)
  • Jenny Saltzman (School of Earth, Energy and Environmental Sciences)
  • Deborah Stipek (Education, Haas Center)