Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

Friends of Haas

Main content start
2019 awardees (l) Frank Benest (r) Nanci L. Howe
2019 awardees (l) Frank Benest (r) Nanci L. Howe

The Friends of Haas designation recognizes campus staff, faculty, alumni and community partners who have demonstrated a long-term commitment to the mission, values and principles of the Haas Center. Individuals selected as Friends of Haas have greatly contributed to the support and execution of public service education, initiatives, and programming for the university community.

2020 Awardee

  • Harry J. Elam, Jr., Senior Vice Provost for Education and Vice President for the Arts

2019 Awardees

  • Frank Benest, Former City Manager of Palo Alto, California
  • Nanci L. Howe, Associate Dean and Director, Student Activities and Leadership

2018 Awardees

  • Kristen Azevedo, Director of Student-Athlete Leadership & Development, Leadership Education & Athletic Advising Resources
  • Brian Cook,’94, Director of Assessment and Program Evaluation, Institutional Research & Decision Support

2017 Awardees

  • Deland Chan, Assistant Director of Urban Studies for Community-Based Learning and the Human Cities Initiative
  • Michael Kahan, Senior Lecturer, Sociology; Acting Director, Program on Urban Studies

2016 Awardees

  • Jill Sumodobila, Senior Human Resources Associate, Student Affairs, Stanford University
  • ​Anna Waring, PhD ’95, Executive Director, Foundation for a College Education, East Palo Alto

2015 Awardees

  • Connie Juel, ’71, MA ’74, PhD ’77
  • ​Katherine Toy, ’91, MA ’95 (STEP)

2014 Awardees

  • Kathy Coll
  • Gina Sudaria, '98

2013 Awardees

  • David Abernethy
  • Kristin Conner
  • Judith Ned

2012 Awardees

  • Julie Lythcott-Haims
  • Milbrey McLaughlin

2011 Awardees

  • Doree Allen
  • Julia Hartung
  • Mary Hofstedt
  • Mary Morrison