Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

Miriam Aaron Roland Volunteer Service Prize

Main content start
2019 Roland Prize winner Bruce Cain (r) with Miriam Roland
2019 winner Bruce Cain (r) with Miriam Roland

The Miriam Aaron Roland Volunteer Service Prize recognizes Stanford faculty who engage and involve students in integrating academic scholarship with significant and meaningful volunteer service.

Established through the generosity of Miriam Aaron Roland, '51 as an endowment to the Haas Center, the Roland Prize is unique at Stanford for its focus on the significant role that public service by faculty can play in higher education, benefiting students, communities, and the faculty themselves.

The prize, which includes a cash award, acknowledges faculty doing exemplary service work with nonprofits, NGOs, government agencies, or philanthropies, either domestically or internationally.


A nominee must be a full-time member of the Academic Council, Senior Lecturer, Medical School line faculty member, or clinician educator and demonstrate a personal commitment to service and a record of involving students in service.

For more information, please contact Paitra Houts.

2021 Awardee

Professor David Cohen

David Cohen, WSD Handa Professor in Human Rights and International Justice, professor of classics and director of the Stanford Center for Human Rights and International Justice, is a leading expert in human rights, international law, and transitional justice, as well as one of the world’s leading social and legal historians of ancient Greece. He was recognized for bridging scholarship and service through his courses and hands-on support of students participating in the Human Rights Fellowship and the many research initiatives at the Center for Human Rights.

Read more | Watch the video of the event

Past Prize Recipients


Arnetha F. Ball, Charles E. Ducommun Endowed Professor, emerita, in the Stanford Graduate School of Education; one of the nation's leading scholars on educational linguistics, urban education, and preparation for teachers to have the skills, knowledge and dispositions needed to make a difference in the educational lives of historically marginalized students.


Bruce E. Cain, Charles Louis Ducommun Professor in Humanities and Sciences and director of the Bill Lane Center for the American West; senior fellow at the Woods Institute for the Environment, the Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research (SIEPR), and the Precourt Institute for Energy.


Nicole Ardoin,  Associate Professor of Education in the Graduate School of Education, Senior Fellow at the Woods Institute for the Environment, and the director of the Emmett Interdisciplinary Program on Environment and Resources (E-IPER).


William Koski,  Eric and Nancy Wright Professor of Clinical Education and Professor of Law (teaching), Stanford Law School; Professor of Education, by courtesy, Stanford Graduate School of Education.


Rodolfo Dirzo,  Bing Professor in Environmental Science in the Department of Biology at Stanford University and the director of the Center for Latin American Studies; senior fellow at the Stanford Woods Institute for the Environment, and a faculty fellow in the Center for Teaching and Learning.


Elizabeth A. "Liz" Hadly, biology professor and senior associate vice provost for undergraduate education; Paul S. and Billie Achilles Chair of Environmental Biology and senior fellow at the Stanford Woods Institute for the Environment.


Catherine "Cathy" Heaney, associate professor (teaching) of psychology and of medicine.


Joan Petersilia, Adelbert H. Sweet Professor of Law and faculty co-director of the Stanford Criminal Justice Center.


Gabriel Garcia, MD, professor of medicine and associate dean of admissions at the Stanford School of Medicine.


Janice Ross, MA ’75, PhD ’98, Professor (Teaching) of Drama and Director of the Dance Division at Stanford.


Debra Satz, Marta Sutton Weeks Professor of Ethics in Society, professor of philosophy and, by courtesy, political science.
Rob Reich, associate professor of political science and, by courtesy, philosophy and the School of Education, is faculty co-director of the Center on Philanthropy and Civil Society and faculty director of the Program in Ethics in Society.


Linda Darling-Hammond, Charles E. Ducommun Professor in the School of Education.


Lars Osterberg, Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine at Stanford School of Medicine.


Terry L. Karl '70 (Humanities; '76 MA, '82 PhD, Political Science) Professor of Political Science, Gildred Professor in Latin American Studies and Senior Fellow, by courtesy, at the Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies.
James M. Patell, Herbert Hoover Professor of Public and Private Management in the Stanford University Graduate School of Business.


Don Barr, MD '90 (MS, Health Services Research; '93 PhD, Sociology) Associate Professor (teaching) of Sociology and Human Biology.
Michael Wald, Jackson Eli Reynolds Professor of Law.


Al Camarillo, Professor of History and Haas Centennial Professor in Public Service.
Marilyn A. Winkleby, Associate Professor of Medicine.


Milbrey McLaughlin, David Jacks Professor of Education and Public Policy.
Boyd C. Paulson, Jr., Charles H. Leavell Professor of Civil Engineering.