Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

Students: We're here to help you find opportunities that are a good fit for you! Schedule an appointment with a Haas Center Peer Advisor.

Email us

Kennedy-Diamond Award for Excellence in Community Engaged Learning and Research

Main content start

The Kennedy-Diamond Graduate Award for Excellence in Community-Engaged Learning and Research recognizes a graduate student who has demonstrated exemplary and mutually-beneficial engagement with the community through teaching or community-based research.

The selection committee will evaluate the nominations on the degree to which the nominees meet the following criteria:

  • Evidence of success in building bridges between campus and community and fostering sustainable partnership(s)
  • Evidence of excellence in  community-engaged teaching and/or effective partnership-based research, including public dissemination of results
  • Demonstrated commitment to professional development as a community engaged scholar
  • Demonstrated commitment to social justice and the embodiment of the Haas Center for Public Service’s Principles of Ethical and Effective Service

2024 Awardee

  • Alexis Wilson, MS '22, PhD candidate in Earth System Science

2023 Awardees

  • Charlie Hoffs, '22 Chemical Engineering, MS '23 Community Health and Prevention Research
  • Kemi Oyewole, MA '21, PhD '24 Educational Policy and Organization Studies at the Graduate School of Education

2022 Awardee

  • Sophie Allen, JD/PhD candidate in Sociology

2021 Awardee

  • Ashley Jowell, ’18, MS ’18, MD ’23, School of Medicine

2020 Awardee

  • Juan Miguel Arias, PhD ’20, Developmental and Psychological Sciences at the Graduate School of Education

2019 Awardee

  • Indira Phukan Nicholas, PhD candidate, Curriculum and Teacher Education and Science Education at the Graduate School of Education

2018 Awardee

  • Anna Lee, PhD candidate, Emmett Interdisciplinary Program in Environment and Resources

2017 Awardee

  • Rebecca Niemiec, PhD candidate, Emmett Interdisciplinary Program in Environment and Resources

2016 Awardee

  • Eduardo Muñoz-Muñoz, PhD candidate, Stanford Graduate School of Education
2024 awardee Alexis Wilson